## Stand as an Otterhampton Parish Councillor



## **Polling Day**

Thursday 7 May 2015

(nominations to be submitted by 9th April)

## Make a difference to your Community

- The parish council is the first tier of local government and is an elected body with tax raising powers representing the villages of Combwich, Otterhampton and Steart.
- 7 councillors represent the parish and they have a 4 year term of office. The council is elected en bloc every 4 years.
- Your council is responsible for items such as the children's playground, grass cutting, the village gardener, notice boards, benches, dog and litter bins, defibrillator, some path and road maintenance and enhancement projects.
- Your council owns the common and is responsible for its management.
- Your council represented the interest of the community in the development of the Steart Marshes and was responsible for the negotiations with EDF including the £500,000 allocated to the parish from the Community Impact Mitigation Fund (CIM Fund).
- Your council needs interested members of the public to become involved in the work of the council.

**Meetings** are held on the first Thursday of the month in the village hall and the public is welcome to attend. For further information on the work of the council, or if you are interested in becoming a parish councillor, please contact the clerk Mrs Aly Prowse on 01278 652426 or email

otterhamptonpcclerk@gmail.com or any parish council member

## For nomination packs contact:

Mrs Aly Prowse

Email: otterhamptonpcclerk@gmail.com

Telephone: 01278 652426

or

Sedgemoor District Council

Email: electoral.services@sedgemoor.gov.uk

Telephone: 01278 435 334

(Nomination packs available from 3rd March)